M. Ryan Thomas, CPA, General Manager

A lifelong resident of East Texas, Ryan Thomas is the General Manager of East Texas Electric Cooperative, where he oversees all generation and transmission operations and power supply decisions.

Prior to being named General Manager, Thomas served as the Assistant General Manager and Chief Financial Officer, where he coordinated and managed all aspects of the company’s finances. Since joining ETEC in 2006, Thomas has successfully led a refinancing of $100 million of interim debt for the Plum Point project, which eliminated member guarantees and saved more than $5 million for Co-op members. He also secured loans of a combined $900 million, allowing the Cooperative to participate in two coal plants in Arkansas, purchase an existing natural gas-fired facility in East Texas and construct natural gas-fired turbines at two sites in East Texas. In addition, he oversaw the ETEC application process that resulted in an award of $50 million in Clean Renewable Energy Bonds for its planned Lake Livingston hydroelectric facility and $55 million for its Woodville biomass facility.

Thomas serves as ETEC’s representative on the Plum Point Management Committee and previously served as chairman of the Plum Point Accounting Committee from 2012-2014.  He is also ETEC’s representative on the Harrison County Power Plant Management Committee and the ISES 2 Marketing Committee. Thomas serves as ETEC’s representative on the Lake Texoma Advisory Committee and represents ETEC on the Sam Rayburn Dam Electric Cooperative Board of Directors, where he keeps a close watch on hydroelectric rights.

Prior to beginning his professional career at Arthur Andersen, L.L.P, Thomas earned his master of science in accounting from Texas A&M University and graduated Cum Laude with a bachelor of business administration in accounting from Texas A&M University.

Thomas and his wife Lee Ann, along with their 11-year-old son Mason and 9-year-old daughter Megan, are active members of the First Baptist Church in Nacogdoches, where he serves as a Deacon. He previously served on the church budget and finance committee, where he was elected chairman in 2013. He now serves as chairman of the personnel committee. Thomas has also served as a leader for the Royal Ambassador boys group on Wednesdays at FBC and has made two mission trips to Ecuador with a group from the church. 

Thomas also enjoys hiking, hunting and camping and is fortunate that his wife also shares these enjoyments as they pass them along to their kids. 


Carrie Hawkins, CPA, Chief Financial Officer

Carrie Hawkins serves as the Chief Financial Officer for East Texas Electric Cooperative. A graduate of Lamar University with dual bachelor degrees in both accounting and finance, Hawkins is a Certified Public Accountant in the state of Texas.

Hawkins has worked as a senior auditor, accounting manager and assistant controller, providing her with a diverse financial background. As Chief Financial Officer for ETEC, Hawkins coordinates and manages all aspects of the organization’s accounting and financial activities. She is committed to implementing new and improved processes to better serve ETEC and its cooperative members.

Hawkins currently serves as the Plum Point Accounting Committee Chair, overseeing financial and budgeting activities of the jointly-owned generation facility.

She and her husband, RJ, have two children, and have lived in East Texas since 2005. Hawkins is involved in multiple civic organizations, including the Junior League of Lufkin and the Pineywoods Cattle Baron’s Gala, a benefit for the American Cancer Society. An active volunteer in the community, she is also involved in local team sports by coaching and mentoring children.


John Hargrove, P.E., Chief Technology Officer

A native of Buna, Texas, Hargrove graduated from Lamar University with his degree in electrical engineering. He went to work for Gulf States Utilities, out of Beaumont, and later Lockard & White, of Houston, before founding his own company in 1995. 

As owner of New Signals Engineering, Hargrove was able to work in a consulting capacity on major telecommunications projects; linking in to the electric cooperative network. In 1997, he began working with several East Texas Electric Cooperative member co-ops. In 2015, he went to work full-time with Sam Houston Electric Cooperative as an engineer. 

During his time at Sam Houston EC, he began hosting cybersecurity training sessions and spearheading the cooperative’s cybersecurity initiatives, working to create a comprehensive and strategic plan for how the ETEC member co-ops would secure and maintain grid operational networks. 

Hargrove is married to his high school sweetheart, Leisa, and he enjoys spending time doing Bible study, astronomy, playing basketball and serving in several youth ministries each year. 

Hargrove has been a registered professional engineer in Texas since 1985.

ETEC Board Members

Robert Walker, Assistant Secretary/Treasurer
General Manager, Upshur-Rural Electric Cooperative

Debra Robinson, President
General Manager, Wood County Electric Cooperative

Doug Turk, Member
General Manager, Sam Houston Electric Cooperative

Greg Jones, Secretary/Treasurer
General Manager, Cherokee County Electric Cooperative

Steve DeLaughter, Member
Board President, Bowie-Cass Electric Cooperative

Mark Boyd, Member
General Manager, Bowie-Cass Electric Cooperative

Bryan Wood, Member
General Manager, Deep East Texas Electric Cooperative

Wes Barron, Member
Director, Cherokee County Electric Cooperative

Kathi Calvert, Member
General Manager, Houston County Electric Cooperative

J. P. Dobbs, Jr., Member
Board President, Deep East Texas Electric Cooperative

Mark Tamplin, Member
General Manager, Jasper-Newton Electric Cooperative

Dan Courmier, Member
Board President, Houston County Electric Cooperative

Kathy Wood, Member
General Manager, Panola-Harrison Electric Cooperative

Pat Brown, Member
Board Vice President, Jasper-Newton Electric Cooperative

Rhett Reid, Member
General Manager, Rusk County Electric Cooperative

Basel Gibbs, Member
Director, Panola-Harrison Electric Cooperative

Robert Boyd, Member
Director, Sam Houston Electric Cooperative

Sam Allison, Member
Board President, Rusk County Electric Cooperative

Pat Lindley, Member
Board President, Wood County Electric Cooperative

Frankie King, Member
Board President, Upshur-Rural Electric Cooperative